Everybody wants to be in love

Everyone in their life experiences the feeling. The one where your face flushes. Your legs quiver. Your stomach flips. Your heart races at the speed lf light and the butterflies in your stomach have a sudden burst of energy like a child on a caffeine high. You stutter when you try to talk. Your thoughts jumble up and they become the only other person around.
This is not love though. This is infatuation. Sometimes it develops into adoration and then love; sometimes it fizzles out. Only time can tell which way it will go but when it comes you just have to accept it. There is no benefit from forcing it, no matter the benefits of the relationship. Some people fall in love with idea of the person and the life they could have rather than them themselves, while others become stuck in a cycle of hopeless devotion to their significant other. The world has practically written a a handbook on what love should be. How you should feel. Behave. I say everyone’s different. You’ve got to let it do what it does.

“As stated in Greek mythology, humans were originally created with four arms, four legs and a head with two faces. Fearing their power, Zeus split them in to two separate beings, condemning them to spend their lives in search of their other halves.” – Plato’s the Symposium

So now I question; how many people experience the feeling? Not the one I described above but the actual one. The one where you know you have found your other half. Found your soul mate. Your completion. I’d guess less than half of us. A sad figure really when you think that we are all wondering around looking for our missing half and hardly anyone finds them. That means that there are always 2 people settling for someone who can give parts of themselves back but never the whole thing. Never being entirely complete. That’s if you go with the Greek mythology idea anyway…
I can’t preach on love with the lack of experience I’ve had, but I can try. My love history has been sparce for the 19 and a half years of my life. I’ve had very many crushes…haven’t we all? But there has only one time that I considered I may be in love. I’ll save the stupid pathetic details for another post but in a nut shell… I was infatuated by him. I fell for everything he was. Everything we could have been. I never fell for him though. It’s only looking back I can say this for sure but it still hurts when it’s gone…but that’s the thing with love.

The one who loves hardest, hurts worst.

Since that I can genuinely say there are 2 responses to love. To love again. And to shut off from love. One is a cure and one is a suppressor. Which is which is the part I haven’t figured out yet. Even so I know which one I have picked. Whether it stands me in good stead is something I have yet to figure out too…
So on this valentine’s day I wish you all an amazing day whether you are single, dating, married, confused and anything else.
Never settle. They are out there somewhere. Waiting and lost as you are.

Dan -x-

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/14/daily-prompt-its-friday-im-in-love/

5 thoughts on “Everybody wants to be in love

  1. Pingback: The Girl From Italy | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: A journey begins..proud eagle.. | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: I was a teenage girl-watcher | Rob's Surf Report

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love. Saturday, I’m not. | Her Crazy World ♥

Leave a Reply

